Ripley County Indiana


Local Emergency Planning Committee
Home    Announcements   Meeting Schedule   Fact Sheet   Photos


Phone: 812-934-2230 




Fax: 812-689-4374


24-Hour Emergency Phone:



Batesville Fire and Rescue

115 East Catherine Street

Batesville, IN  47006


Ripley County Government

Ripley County EMA

The perils of today’s world require governments to be better prepared to deal with emergencies than ever before.  Regardless of the nature of the emergency, state and local governments must respond efficiently and effectively on short notice.

At the local level, each county or other jurisdictional unit maintains a Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC). The LEPC reports directly to, and is a subunit of, the Indiana Emergency Response Commission (IERC) and has specific duties, mandated by law.

The Ripley County Emergency Planning Committee, hereinafter referred to as the "Committee," is a state entity created pursuant to SARA Title III, the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986. The committee has been appointed by the Indiana Emergency Response commission as a special State Appointee. The primary purpose of the Committee is to implement SARA Title III in Indiana, but its broader purpose is to enhance environmental protection and public health and safety as these are affected by chemical hazards in Ripley County.


The Ripley County Emergency Plan for Hazardous Material Incidents, Ripley County Hazardous Analysis and all information filed by covered facilities may be inspected in the Batesville Fire and Rescue Office between the hours of 9:00am and 4:00pm