view the duties of a County Council Member          


Dephane Smith, President

5796 E. Co. Rd. 475 N.

Milan, IN 47031




Juanita (Dee Dee) Kaiser

418 Pleasant View Lane

Batesville, IN  47006



Bill Dramann

347 S Park Avenue

Batesville, IN  47006



Bill McDonald

5756 W Fairground Rd

Osgood, IN  47037


Donald Dunbar, President Pro Tem

829 E Beech Street

P.O. Box 122

Osgood, IN  47037



Edward L. Armbrecht

1784 E County Rd 800 S

Versailles, IN  47042



Bill Warren

645 Columbia Avenue

Osgood, IN  47037






2012 Meeting Schedule

Meetings begin at 7:00pm in the Commissioner's meeting room located in  the Annex Building

Wednesday, January 18

Tuesday, February 21
Monday, March 19
Monday, April 16
Monday, May 21
Monday, June 18
Monday, July 16
Monday, August 20
Monday, September 17
Monday, October 15
Monday, November 19
Monday, December 17


Council Meeting Minutes

Unofficial Minutes prepared by Bill Wagner, Ripley County Auditor

The Ripley County Council met on Monday, June 18, 2012 at the Ripley County EMA Office in Versailles, Indiana.

Council President Ms. Dephane Smith called the meeting to order promptly at 7:00PM with the Pledge of Allegiance to the flag. Council Members Bill McDonald, Edward Armbrecht, Bill Dramann, Bill Warren, and Donald Dunbar were also in attendance.  Council Member Kaiser was absent.   Also in attendance was Attorney Ertel and Auditor Wagner.

Approval of minutes from May 21, 2012:

Council Member McDonald moved to approve the minutes as presented with a second from Council Member Dramann.  The motion passed with 6 yes.  

TRANSFER OF FUNDS: (Council Approval Not Needed)

Ripley County Parks

$117.00 From 1219-38710-000-050 To Special Event Services 1219-36400-000-050 for Liability Insurance

TRANSFER OF FUNDS:  (Council Approval Needed)



Ripley County LCC

$12,358.96 Drug Fee Community Funds  #0276-375500-276  Funds to meet 2012 budget and grant awards

Council Member Armbrecht moved to approve with a second from Council Member Dramann.  The motion passed with 6 yes.


$15000.00 County Burial of Veterans #1001-39900-000-018   To pay claims for the balance of 2012.

Council Member Warren moved to approve with a second from Council Member McDonald.  The motion passed with 6 yes.



Ms. Paula Goodpaster presented the report for 2012.  She advised she had calculated the balance needed for 2012 and would need to request an additional appropriation for $1062.50 yet. 

Mr. Aaron Bell-SE Indiana Recycling:  Mr. Bell provided the Council Members with a recap of what had been implemented and results of the recycling for 2012.  He also provided his annual report for 2012.

Mr. Bell advised the recycling had been expanded and receptacles placed at Cross Plains.    He had negotiated a NO Fee policy for electronics, refrigerators, etc for people to bring in these items.  Also old prescriptions are collected through law enforcement offices.

He is working on a program to reimburse the local schools for recycling material they collect.  They are providing disaster debris with all 7 counties they represent to help dispose of that material.

They are also providing a $1000.00 grant to each county to help with illegal dumping clean-up or advertisements to make the public aware of the problem.

Council Member Armbrecht questioned how the tax rate was established and was advised the rate is set by the State.

Prosecutor Hertel advised the Council the State of Indiana had $funds for a $169,000.00 grant to Ripley County to set up a community corrections program.  This would allow the  courts to sentence non-violent offenders to community service/work release so the offender could stay in the community and support his family rather than be incarcerated.  It would require an Advisory Panel to be established to hire a director for the program and who would report to the Advisory panel.  He also would hire staff for his department.  The theory is the program would be self-sufficient from the fees charged to participate in the program.  It was noted that Jefferson, Dearborn and Decatur Counties had a program running and it was determined to contact these counties to see how the program was working before any further discussion.

Ms. Pat Thomas-Health Department-presented a revised Salary Ordinance.  It was discussed and she was advised to appropriate funds to pay the salary to cover a short period.  She was advised by Council Member Armbrecht to appropriate the funds for the next meeting and he would help her correct the Ordinance.

Council Member Armbrecht moved to approve the presented Ordinance with a second from Council Member Dunbar.  The motion passed with 6 yes.

The Finance Committee presented the recommendations to the Council for the 2013 Budgets as follows:

1)    3% salary increase for 2013 for all employees

2)    Department expenses flat from 2012

3)    No new hires

Auditor Wagner was instructed to notify the departments so they could begin preparation of the 2013 budgets.


Council Member Armbrecht questioned Sheriff Grills how to obtain what the Sheriff Pension funds were invested in.  Sheriff Grills advised he would contact Morgan Stanley to obtain the information.

Commissioner Reiners advised he felt Koch Mechanical was behind schedule.  He discussed the schedules and demolition and abatement of the contamination for the Bauer property.


Sheriff Grills advised the Council if the Community Corrections program was instituted it would have an impact on his revenue from home incarceration and would probably need to be made up from County General. 



TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE—Mr. Edward Armbrecht- It was recommended to the Commissioners to provide the Assessor’s office with a new software vendor (XSoft) for the office.  The current vendor’s software creates numerous problems and requiring constant “fixes” to operate properly.  Council was also advised the commissioners had already approved the request.

E911 ADVISORY BOARD:  Ms. Juanita Kaiser—ABSENT


GRANTS COMMITTEE –Ms. Dephane Smith—EMS is applying for help to purchase new equipment that will provide the hospitals with vital information.

SOLID WASTE DISTRICT—Mr. Bill McDonald—Stated Mr. Aaron Bell had provided the information.


With no further business to come before the Council a motion was made by Council Member McDonald to adjourn.  A second was made by Council Member Warren and the motion passed -6 yes


Ripley County