District 1

Robert Reiners, President

10105 N Spades Rd

Sunman, IN  47041



District 2

Mark Busching

214 Spencer Lane

Versailles, IN  47042



District 3

Gerald Stutler

P.O. Box 66

Friendship, IN  47021


Meeting Schedule

Meetings begin at 7:00am at the Highway Garage and at 8:00am in the Commissioner's meeting room located in the Annex Building

Monday, January 6,2014

Monday, July 21, 2014
Friday, January 20, 2014 Monday, August 4, 2014
Monday, February 3, 2014 Monday, August 18, 2014
Monday, February 17, 2014 Friday, August 29, 2014
Monday, March 3, 2014 Monday, September 15, 2014
Monday, March 17, 2014 Monday, September 29, 2014
Monday, March 31, 2014 Friday, October 10, 2014
Monday, April  14, 2014 Monday, October 27, 2014
Monday, April 28, 2014 Monday, November 10, 2014
Monday, May 12, 2014 Monday, November 24, 2014
Friday, May 23, 2014 Monday, December 8, 2014
Monday, June 9, 2014 Monday, December 22, 2014
Monday, June 23, 2014 Monday, January 5, 2015
Monday, July 7, 2014  

Commissioner's Meeting Minutes

Minutes prepared by Bill Wagner, Ripley County Auditor 

Commissioners meeting opened promptly at 7:00AM on Monday, July 7, 2014 at the Ripley County Highway Department, Osgood, Indiana.

Commissioners Robert Reiners, Gary Stutler, Mark Busching and Auditor William Wagner were in attendance for the meeting.

The damage to the county roads caused by the gas pipeline and the Hoosier Hills Water line was discussed.  There is still some discrepancy as to what damage was caused be each and will be researched.  Hoosier Hills Water is working with the county to finalize their part.

Foreman Pat Kissell advised the mower decks needed to be replaced as they had been repaired numerous times.  He is to look into the cost of replacement.

With no further business to discuss Commissioner Busching moved to recess to the Annex meeting room.  Commissioner Stutler seconded and the motion passed unanimously.

Commissioner Busching moved to reconvene with a second from Commissioner Stutler.  Motion passed unanimously and the meeting reconvened with the Pledge to the Flag.

Commissioners Reiners, Stutler, and Busching were present as well as Auditor Wagner and Attorney Ertel.

Maintenance—Mr. Johnnie Lohrum

Mr. Lohrum was not available for the meeting.

Technology-Ms. Kelly Vollet

Ms. Becky Cairns was present to advise there was no new information to be presented.

EMA—Patrick Rose 8:28:00

Mr. Rose presented the Emergency Management Performance Grant to the commissioners for signature.  This grant provides up to 50% reimbursement of the EMA salary. 

Commissioner Busching moved to approve the request with a second from Commissioner Stutler.  Motion passed unanimously.

Sheriff—Sheriff Stratton 9:07:14

Sheriff Stratton advised they had received a quote from Krooks Custom Security Systems ($7451.31) for the repair to the equipment at the jail due to a lightning strike.  He asked if the commissioners felt it was a good time to upgrade the system rather than just repair the old one as parts were getting hard to find.  It would also allow the old jail section and new jail section to be linked together.  He was advised to get a quote for this to be considered. 

EMS—Mr. Jim Corbin 9:20:00

Mr. Corbin presented the commissioners with a revised contract for the Rescue Units for their consideration. 

He also reported by unit, the monthly savings to the Rescue Units from the reduced charge to them for the Advanced Life Support runs made by the county EMS personnel.  He also provided the savings year to date through June, 2014 for each.

Batesville Fire and EMS-- $9,700.00

Sunman Area Life Squad-$4,200.00

Milan Rescue 30-----------$12,800.00

Southern Ripley County Emergency Life Squad--$18,300.00

The reductions vary by department as they are based on the number of runs made that require the use of the county personnel.  Overall reduction through June is $45,000.00.

Commissioners took a break:

Children’s Advocate—Ms. Sarah Brichto 9:50:57

Ms. Brichto presented the commissioners with information of the Children’s Advocacy Center located in Dillsboro, Indiana and serves Dearborn, Decatur, Jefferson, Jennings, Ohio, Ripley, and Switzerland Counties.  She advised they had provided service to 26 children from Ripley County as of June, 2014.  She requested the commissioners continue funding for 2015. 

SIRPC-Ms. Jodi Comer 10:00:00

Ms. Comer requested the commissioners sign the corrected agreement for Delaware Fire Department as requested by the State of Indiana.  Commissioner Stutler moved to approve the request with a second form Commissioner Busching.  Motion passed unanimously.

Minutes of June 9, 2014 and Claims from the commissioners’ budget:

At this time Commissioner Stutler moved to approve the minutes of 6/23/14 as presented.  Commissioner Busching seconded and the motion passed unanimously.

Commissioner Busching moved to approve the claims being paid from the commissioners’ budget.  Commissioner Stutler seconded and the motion passed unanimously.

Commissioners signed payroll sheets, claim vouchers, claims being paid from the commissioners’ budget, and minutes of the June 23, 2014 meeting.

The commissioners reviewed the County General Budget and obtained information so they could review and make changes for the 2015 budget cycle.

Auditor Wagner advised the quote received from Bedel Concrete Construction had a number transposed when received.  Original received showed $2153.00 and the actual was to have been $2513.00.  He advised Bedel Concrete Construction was request approval for the actual $2513.00. 

Commissioner Stutler moved to approve the actual of $2513.00 with a second from Commissioner Busching.  Motion passed unanimously.

Auditor Wagner brought the issue of the Floor mats being rented from CINTAS for the courthouse and annex.  He was instructed to obtain final quotes to be considered for the purchase of mats rather than renting.

Ms. Katherine Taul of Ripley County Tourism appeared to thank the commissioners for their support of events to promote tourism and bring people to the county.

With no further business to attend to Commissioner Busching moved to recess.  Commissioner Stutler seconded and the motion passed unanimously.


 Return to Ripley County